Awards presented as season ends for Crediton United

By Crediton Courier Newspaper in Football

CREDITON United’s season came to a close with the Annual Presentation Evening held at the Clubhouse on Friday, May 5.

An excellent turnout of players, supporters, committee members and partners celebrated a successful season for the Club and enjoyed a fine buffet meal provided by Andy Bridgeman of the Fingle Glen Hotel.

Master of Ceremonies, Club Treasurer Steve Grinney, introduced Chairman Martin Edgington and team managers Matt Trenaman and Paul Conabeare to introduce the Cup award winners and they emphasised the successful season of both First and Reserve teams.

At one stage the First team were top of the East Division One and looked likely to be contesting the promotion stakes to the South West Peninsula Premier Division.

However, a poor period after Christmas saw them drop away to eventually finish in eighth position.

The Reserves, who had been reformed after one season’s absence, finished as runners-up in Division Five of the Devon and Exeter League losing only two games all season.

Steve Grinney also introduced his father, Ian, a long-term player, Committee Member and Honorary Life Member, who paid a special tribute to retiring Committee member and friend Chris Gillard in recognition of 50 years’ continuous service as a Committee member and former Chairman.

A special collage of 50-plus photographs (still to be framed) in which Chris appeared during his time with the Club was presented to Chris in appreciation of his services.

Bouquets of flowers were also presented by Martin Edgington to ladies who had helped in so many ways to make the season so enjoyable and successful.

After a brief summer break Club training will start again on Tuesday, July 4 followed by a programme of pre-season friendlies for both teams.

To check out pre-season friendlies look at the SWPL Forum, click on “General League Forum” for the “Pre season thread”.

The Club would like to thank everyone who has supported the teams during the season. As usual the Club is always seeking volunteers to help with the running of the Club.

If anyone is interested in helping out in any way please contact the Club Chairman on 01363 8602290 or have a word with any Committee member.


First team manager’s Player of the Year and winner of the Ian and Jean Grinney Cup - Dave Lee.

Player’s Player of the Year and winner of the Bill Burman Cup - Richard Blake.

Second team manager’s Player of the Year and winner of the Dave and Monica Blanchford Cup - Matt Kingdom.

Second team Player’s Player of the Year - Danny Harvey.

Veterans Team Player of the Year - Bradley Taylor.

Supporters Player of the Year - Lee Riggs.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C