Crediton Rugby Football Club Junior Presentation Awards Night 2017

By Crediton Courier Newspaper in Rugby

CREDITON Rugby Football Club Junior section held its end of season Awards Evening at the Rugby Club on Saturday, May 13.

The evening was well attended by all of the teams from the Under 9’s to Under 16’s Boys teams to the Under 13’s, Under 15’s and Under 18’s Girls teams, families and friends.

Junior section chairman Shane Bayley opened the evening with a few “thank you’s” to the Senior Committee for their support throughout the season, Tracy Matthews for organising the bar, Dawn Tonkin for purchasing the food for the players after their games on Sunday’s and the groundsmen who keep the pitches in tip-top condition.

Also to all of the Junior coaches who put in a lot of time and effort to coach the children and take them to the matches arranged by fixture secretary Jay Harris, the parents and families who support the children and coaches.

Shane also welcomed Alec Hepburn from Exeter Chiefs to present the awards.

Alec and former player Sam Hill will be the Senior club coaches for next season so the youngsters will get to see them around the club regularly and the junior coaches will be able to observe the seniors training.

The coaches from each team had decided on three common cups per age group, Best Tackler (BT), Most Improved Player (MIP), Player of the Season (POS) and some teams also made additional awards to their players.

The winners of the awards were:

Under 9’s – BT, Jacob Robinson – MIP, Zachery Yeandle – POS, Jake Kibbey; Under 10’s – BT, Riley Northfield – MIP, Arlo Vaughan – POS, Elliot Butterfield; Under 11’s – BT, Logan Shears – MIP, Jack James – POS, James Howard; Under 12’s – BT, Adam Mitchell-Manns – MIP, Tom Gray – POS, Taylor Wonnacott; Under 13’s – BT, Joseph Bastin – MIP, Cory Newport Snell – POS, Reuben Came; Under 14’s – BT, Liam Newstead – MIP, Charlie Jarvis – POS, Toby Jeffery; Under 15’s – BT, Ethan Sibley – MIP, Harry Poole – POS, Finley Morgan; Under 16’s – BT, Patrick Anthony – MIP, Oscar Broad-Voysey – POS, Jacob Turner; Under 13’s Girls – BT, Catey Lee – MIP, Rhiannon Frost – POS, Beth Daw; Under 15’s Girls – BT, Lucy Stephenson – MIP, Chloe Newstead – POS, Evie Longworth; Under 18’s Girls – BT, Sarah Kingdon – MIP, Sophie Lyon – POS, Chloe Etherington.

Other Awards also given out were: Mini Player from Under 9’s – Under 12’s was Tariq Sayers; Junior Player from Under 13’s – Under 18’s was Josh Woodland; Junior Team of the year to the Under 16’s for their team spirit and camaraderie even if results haven’t gone their way.

Junior Clubman of the season was awarded to Toby Newstead for his time and commitment.

Toby has been coaching the Under 14’s team since they were Under 9’s and when the girls teams started he joined in helping to coach them, last season he was coaching the Under 18’s girls on his own.

The awards evening was a great success and thanks were extended to The Three Little Pigs for providing the barbecue and cooking the food, to the bar staff, Trina and Lauren May for selling the soft drinks and sweets and Liz Bayley and Bill Batters for taking all the photographs.

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C